[ARTICLE] Lee Min Ho in interview, “I Love My Fans”


image

2009. There was a man. He played the main
character of a drama after years of no exposure.
It was a role of a high school millionaire. The
drama was a hit, and the man became a hot
star.

2013. There was a man. He wore a high school
uniform in four years. it was another high
school millionaire character. Some criticized him
for playing the exact same role all over again.
However, with his stable acting skills, he
became the hottest star again.

And there is a man who prepares for 2014. He
is already feeling greedy with work. He already
chose his debut film, and is planning to pick two
or three more movies to film.

This is the past, present, and future of Lee Min
Ho. He overcame the hard times of no exposure
as an actor and became a star. Now he is in the
middle of the Hallyu culture.

Lee Min Ho said, “In 2014, I am going to be in
my late 20s. I did not want this time to just go
by. I wanted to show the public my acting. If not
now, I will never be able to show them the feel
of a boy anymore. Since I will always be acting,
I thought I did not have to change my second
role.”

His decision was right. Every episode of “The
Heirs” was an issue, and Lee Min Ho was
standing right there in the middle of every issue.

Although he wore the high school uniform again,
there was no Goo Joon Pyo. He said, “When I
played Goo Joon Pyo in ‘Boys Over Flowers’ in
2009, I decided on even the direction of my
eyes and my fingers. But playing Kim Tan was
different. I put everything down every time I
acted him. Instead of forming the character, I
was faitful to the script. I worried in the
beginning, but I quickly gained confidence.”

In addition to the acting style, his perception of
the acting life changed in 2013, Lee Min Ho
says.

He said, “When I see the fans outside of Korea,
I realized that I can’t prioritize Korean dramas
and films over the international ones. I think this
is the time when I pick the next work equally,
without the boundaries of Korean or other
countries.”

Lee Min Ho said he wants to set the prototype
of a concert type fan meeting.

“In fact, before, I did not like singing. But I feel
that it is unavoidable now, and I want to do my
best at it. I want to set the prototype my fan
meetings for the fans to think that, ‘Lee Min
Ho’s performances are like this.'”

Lee Min Ho said all of the reasons for this is for
the fans.

“At every acting awards ceremony, I said the
reason of my existence is my fans. This is not
just an expression. The confidence I have comes
from my fans. So I cannot help but put my best
effort into everything. I want to give back for
the love I am currently receiving, and I want to
become better at the things the fans like.”

Credit : kdramastars

Leave a Reply

